The Romanian Mycological Society is a scientific, non-governmental, apolitical, non-patrimonial society that aims to promote the scientific researches in the field of mycology and raise awareness towards fungi. The society legal personality on December 17th 1990 by the Iasi City Court decision and acts according to the Romanian legislation on the basis of founding members signature.

The first steps in order for the society’s activity to be legal were made by the late Mihai TOMA, PhD Professor at the “Ion Ionescu de la Brad” University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of Iasi. The interest concerning the taxonomy and ecology of macromycetes allowed him to maintain collaborations with European and international specialists from the field, to travel and learn about the activities of similar societies.

Since 1988, when the first Romanian mycologists meeting took place the idea of an organization was proposed, supported by the activities of a similar French society. These were well known by Professor Mihai TOMA thanks to his numerous exchanges with mycologists and his travels in various European countries.

From 1995 to 2007, PhD Professor Mihai MITITIUC was president of the Romanian Mycological Society. Throughout these years along with the annual national mycological congresses various meetings with international guests were held (Bacau – Slanic Moldova, Vatra Dornei, Toplita-Miercurea Ciuc). During the symposiums fresh mushrooms exhibition were organized which were addressed especially to the large public interested in knowing and using fungi. The themed symposiums were focused mostly on studying the fungal diversity, taxonomy, physiology, ecology and toxicology, in order to encourage the sustainable use and conservation of fungi and the impact that these organisms have in human activities, in biotechnologies, food industry, pharmacy, public health, eatable species cultivation bio-deterioration, crop protection etc.

The year 1995 represents an important moment in the evolution of Romanian Mycological Society, through the visit of French mycologists Pierre Roux, Didier Borgarino and Fraçois Cadène, who supported in memory of Professor Mihai Toma the reorganization of the society. The meeting was held in Iasi, in September 1995 and was initiated by Professor Doina Liana Toma, the wife of the society’s founder. Several conferences were held at the Agronomic University and different mycological applications were organized together with a mushrooms exhibition at the Botanical Garden.

With this occasion the pharmacist Pierre Roux initiated a training project for young Romanian and Moldavian mycologists. For this, with the help of his collaborators he financially supported the mobility of this young scientists in various regions of France (Massif Central, Vercors Regional Natural Park, Mercantour National Park, Luberon Regional Natural Park, Porquerolles National Mediterranean Botanical Conservator, Maures Massif etc.) and participation at different scientific meetings (Chaise Dieu, Nisa, Colle sur Loup, Belfort, Annot, Entrevaux, Bedarieux, Sainte-Bonnet-le-Froid, Chamonix, Estables) held between 1996-2010. Moreover they donated books, volumes, guides and mycological papers and offered scientific consulting.

In 1997, Pierre Roux as a friendship ambassador of the two societies lead a group of 25 French mycologists including the president of the Sigolenois Mycological Group, PhD Alain Charret, the famous mycotoxicologist PhD Lucien Giacomoni, Didier Borgarino, Fraçois Cadène, Robert Henri, who participated at the 9th edition of the National Symposium of Mycology, Vatra Dornei. With this occasion, between August 28th and September 1st several conferences and mycological application were organized, along with the largest eatable and toxic mushrooms exhibition during which 475 fungal species from different habitats from Dornelor Valley, Calimani Mountains and Rarau Massif were presented.

The contribution of the members of Romanian Mycological Society in the fields of mycology and phytopathology is mentioned in various anniversary and memorial issues but also in published books, teaching courses, brochures, informational papers and didactic materials. Some of this work was awarded with the highest scientific forum – Romanian Academy.

Moreover several exchanges took place with mycologists from France, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, Poland, Norway, Sweden, Ukraine, Moldavia and Hungary. The society, through its members, participated at various international meetings that marked the centennial of the British Mycological Society (Sheffield, 1996), the Congress of the French Mycological Society (Belfort 1998, Chamonix, 2000) and the International Congress of Mycology (Katsiveli, 2003; Sankt Petersburg, 2007; Halkidiki, 2011). After 1996, the society is member of the European Council for the Conservation of Fungi European Council for the Conservation of Fungi and from 2003 a member of the European Mycological Association.

Some of the projects initiated by members of the society were completed through external funding (Phare program) and with involvement from the students interesting in knowing and studying fungi.

From 2007 until 2014 PhD. Margareta Grudnicki, Associate Professor became the president of the Romanian Mycological Society.

In October 2014 by the vote of the General Assembly, the presidency was granted to Professor PhD Catalin Tanase.

In April 2015 Professor PhD Ahmed Abdel-Azeem, from Suez-Canal University, Ismailia, Egypt president of the Arab Society for Fungal Conservation was a guest of “Alexandru Ioan Cuza” University from Iasi during an international exchange program. On April 8th Professor Abdel-Azeem in collaboration with Romanian Mycological Society and “Anastasie Fatu” Botanical Garden held a workshop concerning fungal conservation.

On April 29th 2015 the Arab Society for Fungal Conservation and the Romanian Mycological Society signed a collaboration protocol to ensure the cooperation of the two organizations and develop commune activities.


Meetings and symposiums organized by the Romanian Mycological Society


Year Place Period County
1988 Iasi September 15th-16th Iasi
1989 Toplita September 10th-11th Hargita
1990 Cluj-Napoca September 18th-19th Cluj
1991 Sinaia September 27th-29th Prahova
1992 Sibiu September 4th-6th Sibiu
1994 Sighetul Marmației August 26th-28th Maramures
1995 Iasi October 5th-6th Iasi
1996 Lozova, Republica Moldova September 19th-20th Lozova
1997 Vatra Dornei August 28th – September 1st Suceava
1998 Cluj-Napoca September 11th-13th Cluj
1999 Bacau – Slanic Moldova August 26th-29th Bacau
2000 Radauti August 23rd-26th Suceava
2001 Toplita – Miercurea Ciuc August 3rd-5th Harghita
2002 Targu Neamt September 2nd-5th Neamt
2003 Cluj-Napoca September 4th-6th Cluj
2004 Sinaia August 25th-29th Prahova
2005 Suceava August 25th -29th Suceava
2006 Sibiu September 7th-10th Sibiu
2007 Bacau August 30th – September 2nd Bacau
2008 Iasi September 9th-13th Iasi
2009 Cluj-Napoca September 2nd-4th Cluj
2010 Craiova November 19th-21st Dolj
2011 Iasi September 22nd-24th Iasi
2012 Bucuresti November 3rd Bucuresti
2014 Bacau October 16th-17th Bacau
2015 Farcasa August 25th-29th Neamt
2016 Rânca August 18th-21st Gorj
2018 Poiana Negri 20-23 september Suceava